How do I: Extensions in Database

xlm7a
Joined: Sun 14 of Dec, 2008

Re: How do I: Extensions in Database

Posted:Wed 17 of Dec, 2008 (16:37 UTC)
I'm not sure which web interface you are using (AsteriskNow, Trixbox, FreePBX, or some other web interface). I know that AsteriskNow will modify the extensions.conf file when you add extensions, or incoming/outgoing features to the dialplan. BEWARE, if you edit any of the .conf files yourself that AsteriskNow also writes to, some of the web pages will not display properly if certain elements are changed or eliminated by your editing. Dont ask how I know this!!! :)

To the best of my knowledge AGI programs are not changed through the web interface. They are called from the dialplan with the AGI() application, then dialplan processing is then handled by the AGI program, when the AGI program is finished processing, it returns control of the dialplan to Asterisk. Of course AGI scripts are used when Asterisk's capabilities are too limited to do the kind of processing required within the dialplan itself.
asteriskuser2008
Joined: Fri 12 of Dec, 2008

Re: How do I: Extensions in Database

Posted:Tue 16 of Dec, 2008 (11:31 UTC)
Thanks xlm7a for your reply,

I'm making research on how to configure Asterisk with remote database.

One thing more I want to ask is,
Can we make changes in configuration files like extensions.conf through web interface?

2ndly can we use AGI commands (that we may use in extensions.conf file) through web interface?
xlm7a
Joined: Sun 14 of Dec, 2008

Re: How do I: Extensions in Database

Posted:Mon 15 of Dec, 2008 (18:57 UTC)
You can indeed use a database that is not on the same box as Asterisk. One way is to use an odbc connection from your Asterisk box to the box on which your database resides. I think it's also possible to set up mysql client on the Asterisk box to make a connection to the "remote" database. I have not tried such a setup, but I know that others have successfully done it.
Do some research on on either odbc, or setting up mysql client or postgre sql client to connect remotely. I don't think it would be too difficult to acomplish.
asteriskuser2008
Joined: Fri 12 of Dec, 2008

Re: How do I: Extensions in Database

Posted:Mon 15 of Dec, 2008 (06:55 UTC)
Thanks xlm7a for your reply,

We can configure Asterisk with mysql or postgre.

But,
Can we configure Asterisk with some remote database or database must reside on the same server on which asterisk is running?

Thanks Again, Waiting for your reply
xlm7a
Joined: Sun 14 of Dec, 2008

Re: How do I: Extensions in Database

Posted:Sun 14 of Dec, 2008 (03:55 UTC)
You certainly can store your your extensions in a mysql (or other) database! To do this, you need to check out setting up Asterisk Realtime. There are good instructions for setting up Asterisk Realtime right on this website. There are a couple of ways to do this. 1. Asterisk realtime static. or 2. Asterisk realtime extensions (this is the method I tried).

Here are some links to information on how to configure realtime.

http://www.voip-info.org/wiki/view/Asterisk+RealTime+Static
http://www.voip-info.org/wiki/view/Asterisk+RealTime+Extensions
http://hostseries.com/asterisk-realtime-installation-guide/

I also highly recommend the pdf book Asterisk the Future of Telephony, which can be fownloded here.

http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/download-asterisk-howto-tutorial-book.html

Read chapter 12 Relational Database Integration for information on Asterisk Realtime. Hope this helps. Good luck!
asteriskuser2008
Joined: Fri 12 of Dec, 2008

How do I: Extensions in Database

Posted:Fri 12 of Dec, 2008 (11:02 UTC)
As we place extensions in extensions.conf.
Can we place extensions in custom database e.g. mysql or sql server databases.

Is it possible?

Waiting for your reply