Fonality Reviews

Fonality
Fonality Average User Rating

Based on 54 Reviews

Visit Company Site

Unlike most alternative Asterisk-based PBX offerings, Fonality's PBXtra is more than a simple front-end designed to make it easier for Linux and Asterisk experts to install and manage Asterisk. Fonality has written more than 250,000 lines of code to dramatically streamline the complex tasks of PBX deployment and management. As a result, PBXtra is the world's first true PBX that can be installed and administered remotely using a Web browser, without any specialized training.

In fact,'InfoWorld' wrote in a May 2006 product test, '' it's easy enough that you can probably put a PBXtra into operation yourself."" Internet Telephony magazine wrote in its April 2006 product test, "So what do customers with limited Linux expertise looking for an `easy to manage' IP PBX solution do if they want Asterisk? The answer is deploy Fonality's PBXtra.

PBXtra's enterprise-class features include telecommuting, branch office support, voicemail-to-email, click-to-call, VoIP, softphones, support for IP and analog phones, call recording, distributed call center queuing and more. Small and medium businesses deploying PBXtra pay 40 percent to 80 percent less than they would for a traditional PBX purchase because the software runs on standard PC hardware and uses layers of Open Source Linux and Asterisk.

PBXtra is available from Fonality or through a Fonality reseller. Pricing starts at $995 for the PBXtra Standard Edition server with unlimited licenses, or $2,935 with ten phones. PBXtra's Call Center Edition, which allows for distributed call centers, is $1,995.


Write a Review

54 Users Reviewed Fonality

Love surprising our customers! - Fonality

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

I love to surprise a customer greeting them by name when they call. Even when they know it is a caller id type thing they do feel special and singled out. When I can look over their account and refresh myself with their account details it makes all the difference when speaking to them. That personalized service is a great tool to create a long lasting business relationship

Not a viable system for business use - Fonality

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

On paper the system looked good which is why we signed up. However, we found Fonality extremely unreliable with call quality and the use of the software. On a normal day we had dropped calls and poor sound quality. We frequently couldn't log into the HUD. We spent over 3 hours on the phone on a number of occasions trying to resolve, what seemed basic problems, with no success. After canceling the service the company continued to charge our credit card. Extremely poor experience with this company

Almost 4 years - Fonality

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

In the time that we have had Fonality, it has been very reliable. There has been a few instances where it has been inaccessible, but support was quick to fix it. Dealing with support has been OK. I am not a fan of non-US based tech support. I think we need to create as many jobs as possible in the US. That being said, at least they are usually quick at resolving issues. One persistent issue with our HUD not launching on a specific ISP had to be resolved by me. We had to use an alternate DNS server. Other than that, the HUD has been great for maintaining a view of our queues. Outages are rare and audio quality has been good. The flexibility of using a desk phone, your cell, or a soft phone has been a plus. No onsite hardware to maintain our VOIP is another benefit

Fonality Customer for 7 years

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

We have been with Fonality since 2007. The initial installation and set-up was relatively painless. Their phone support is excellent at all times of the day. We seldom need to call for support as the system is very reliable. I would recommend Fonality to any business that has a small or no I.T. department or any company that wishes to reduce the time it takes to manager their phone system

Fonality Is The Final Answer

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

I own/operate an independent insurance agency and rely heavily on our phone service/system. I have been using Fonality for over 3 years now and couldn't be happier with my decision. Prior to choosing Fonality, I was using a hosted PBX system that was incredibly robust, but outdated and running on an NT Server. When I looked into upgrading the server and software, the price for my small business was over $20K, which was way out of my budget for a 4 person office! This is when I decided to go on the hunt for a VoIP Solution. I called many 3rd Party Phone Vendors and heard all the war stories about VoIP... The Instability, The Poor Voice Quality, The Inability To Guarantee QoS over public internets, etc... Thankfully, I did my own research, tested 10+ Companies/Products, and made the wise choice to go with Fonality VoIP. Not that VoIP can't have it's issues, but in my opinion, most of what I heard were merely scare tactics in an effort to get me to buy extremely expensive hosted solutions. Needless to say.... I've had a hiccup or two along the way, but I've never looked back! The VoIP Features and Value, far outweigh the few hiccups I've had!! Again, I actually demo'd 10+ systems prior to selecting Fonality.... And Pound-For-Pound, none of their competitors could touch their Robust amount of Features and their Overall Value!! I am one happy Fonality/VoIP customer

Great businesses with strong IT Fonality

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

I had some experience with Asterisk at a previous job as well as Avaya. When it came time for our legacy digital phone system to be replaced, we looked at several, including big names like Cisco, Avaya, and others not quite as large, like Mitel. Price point for Fonality was ridiculously low compared to others, even with redundant hardware. Installation team was great (Ricoh USA, who is their primary reseller now). One of the only major problems I can report is with occasional dropped calls. Others who have complained about reliability and service probably brought many of their problems on themselves by trying to save a buck with SIP trunking or a cut rate telco provider. Do you really want your phones going over your Internet? Unless you live in a big metro area and have rock-solid Internet that never goes down, never has any speed issues, and you have a strong networking team able to implement QoS, etc., do not use SIP. These people who use SIP and blame Fonality are barking up the wrong tree. Finally, the only reason I gave "Reliability" a 4 instead of a 5 is that we had occasionally memory leak issues. You can't expect much less from something that relies heavily on Java. We upped the memory and would reboot about once a month off-hours, but the problem was fixed with an update eventually (updates / upgrades included with maintenance)

Fonality is not good

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

Fonality has been a disappointment since the massive purchase years ago. Several of the promised features never came to fruition. The customer service is way too slow and the people who do answer the phone are rude

Fonality seems like a smaller firm that's trying to do big things ....

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

Honestly, if you're a company with a good, reliable standard PBX system and you're thinking of making the move to VoIP primarily to save money? I'd recommend you think long and hard before switching. As an I.T. professional with 20+ years of experience, I've heard so much hype and pressure applied to move everyone to VoIP. "It's the future!", they all say, and they tout the flexibility and features, plus the claimed cost savings. Well, you get what you pay for with this stuff. Our company runs both Fonality and a regular PBX using a dedicated T1 circuit in tandem right now. Fonality certainly winds up costing less, and that's ultimately why we'll likely end up 100% moved over to it, within the next year or two. Unfortunately, we have far more issues with calls not completing correctly and calls dropping than we ever have on the regular PBX system. I'd say at least twice a day, in our small office, someone complains they dialed an extension and heard only strange noises or clicks on their end of the line (even if it rang on the other end). Fonality generally likes to write this off as "bandwidth issues" when questioned about it, yet we're on a 50mbit cable modem connection that consistently checks out as giving us at least what we pay for in upload/download speeds. Fonality's HUD software is another regular source of frustration. Because it really makes such things as multi-party conferencing easier, as well as giving a visual phone directory that lets you view at a glance if someone is actually in a call, people tend to rely on it as though their phone wasn't usable without it. Unfortunately, it's far from being as reliable as the phone itself. For example, the Mac OS X version has a number of issues running properly right now if you're on the latest version of Java 7. And I've regularly had problems with users of the Windows version where the software just quits launching. You click on it and it acts like it's going to run for maybe 2-3 seconds and closes down. A full uninstall and reinstall doesn't fix it. (Not even sure what causes this, although I'm starting to guess it may be related to people with multiple monitor setups with portable computers. If they have the HUD running on a 2nd. or 3rd. display and then sleep or shut down the laptop and take it someplace -- using it where the extra displays aren't attached, it may get the HUD software confused?) And as others have noted, tech. support is spotty at best. We've occasionally had problems where settings we made to our configuration were lost or reverted to older ones after the Fonality server required a reboot to fix an outage or other issues. We eventually found out Fonality synchronizes those settings with other servers in multiple geographic regions and sometimes, that synchronization seems to fail on their end (often not even getting noticed for weeks at a time, until someone calls in with an issue of lost settings like we've had). I've put in tickets that didn't even get a reply for 24 hours or more, followed by a brief and unacceptable answer. The only good resolution came about with phone calls to high up heads of divisions within Fonality, who'd wind up apologizing to us and getting things fixed very quickly (until the next issue). All in all, I like a lot of the functionality Fonality tries to offer and the pricing is good. But I can't really recommend them to companies who rely a lot on their telephones and use a lot of the advanced features (conference bridges especially). It will result in a lot of frustration, especially with salespeople trying to do business by phone all day long

Fonality Service

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

we have had their service for over a yr, its very unreliable, drops calls, call clarity is horrible. their servers go down at least once/twice a month sometimes for several hours during which your entire phone service is down

Great, responsive customer care

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

It took my company a while to figure out our exact needs. Our rep Brian worked with us very closely to figure out our exact needs. Now, we have a very reliable hosted service. We add and remove products as needed with ease. Our users are very happy with the service

Amazing Features

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

The Fonality system has amazing features, with a hybrid setup you get the best of both worlds. The support team is fast and always available to help answer any question you have or help you to setup/configure

The Best of The Best

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

Fonality is the best, I would recommend it to anyone, especially business owners! I don't know what I would do without a quality service provider like Fonality to help my business grow. It is great companies like this that help small business thrive in our country today. Thanks Fonality!!

Fonality Review

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

my salesman was great. he has knowledge of the product and walked me through everything so i knew what to expect. customer service is excellent as well. you get a lot for a littl

Fonality

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

I've been hesitant about moving from hard lines to voip service and so far have been pleased with the features and service. We have had some technical challenges but overall experience has been good

Terrible technical support

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

We use Fonality for over two years now. It has a decent user and management interface and a lot of nice features. Unfortunately, their technical support slowly migrated from not so good to absolutely terrible. I've been on hold for over 40 minutes (and gave up), web interface for submitting trouble tickets doesn't work; e-mails are not responded and tickets not resolved for weeks (and sometimes are completely forgotten). One of the reasons we choose Fonality was technical support. Unfortunately I'm considering a different system now, ONLY because of their (non-existing) technical support

Good local, terrible international calling

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

When talking with the sales agents before moving to Fonality we told them international calling is so important to us. I was a deal breaker and they said their international calling is so good. I put one star in all so you can see this review and be aware of what Fonality is doing to us. After signing up in 1/1/2011 international calling was working good for a few months but then it started failing. They said nothing was wrong and we spended 4 months showing them it was wrong. We needed to make tons of calls and to build detailed emails showing the exact timing for each call, so they belive us there is problems. They did something and the international calling worked good for a while, but in middle 2012 again the international calling issues came again now worst. Intermitent conexion issues, dropped calls and now 1 way audio with specific carriers in the other countries. It has been months waiting them to fix it and this time their answer was: "I got a response from NOC and we've determined that they basically don't have enough bandwidth for those countries and that's why this issue is intermittently happening. What I suggest though in order for you to be able make those calls successfully is to switch to a hybrid-hosted solution." We got BOGO what means second year for free and we are still in the that second year. Now they are forcing us to switch to a hybrid-hosted solution what is more expensive, BEFORE OUR FREE 2nd YEAR ENDS. This is a dirt play to offer BOGO and then in the 2nd year to make the system fail in order to make the customer to buy a more exensive system. We do not recomend Fonality, be so carefull when they offer BOGO or anything free because they are gonna make you pay using dirt ways. We are looking an alternative and leaving Fonality because of this

snappytax

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

I really love this company. The service is great, and service is great. Excellent features that enhance my business presence. They do a great jo

Fonality Business Voip and PBX Solution

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

Fonality worked with me and my company to provide 22 voip lines and a full-featured pbx. No up-front costs, not difficult hardware to setup. They worked with us to set up our full-featured pbx and train us on its use

Best VOIP setup experience

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

From the sales person to the final training and implementation department, Fonality has truly been outstanding so far. Their system is by far the best on the market. We were a little hesitant and scared about the change but everything went surprisingly very smooth. We look forward to using the system now

What did we sign up for

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

The sales guys promise the moon and then once you sign up they don't deliver. They don't return calls even when you want to BUY more services. It took nearly a week to find out we have to pay extra for softfon usage then when we wanted to buy them it took them several days to get us up. We lost the ability to work from home while this went on. There seems to be no sense of urgency to get us back up. We had our $100 an hour IT guys scheduled for a teleconference with their sales guy and the sales guy's cell phone battery expired 10 minutes into the call and we sat around on hold for 15 minutes while he found another phone (this should have been a sign of what we were getting into). The sales guy did not inform us of many 'little things' like we have to dial an area code for local calls...their billing dept opens at 9 pacific time (how do the east coasters deal with this?)...each caller ID is different and we want a company-wide id. I seldom write reviews but after being down for 2 hours this morning and their tech didn't call back in 15 minutes (his offer) on a cell I felt trapped and needed to ven

Fonality is a great, cloud based, full featured PBX solution

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

Fonality has been great to deal with. They have been flexible when needed, and ultimately have dealt with all of our issues. We run Fonality entirely 'in the cloud' via IP phones. This enables us to setup offices whenever, and wherever we need. All we need is an internet connection. Same goes for administration, it can all be done remotely (I am the primary admin and not local to 95% of the company) I gave 4 stars to features because it's not as feature rich as some of it's significantly more expensive competitors (IE - Cisco). Perhaps the premised based system has more features I also rated the CS 4 out of 5. Ultimately, every issue we've encountered has been resolved. However, sometimes it's been difficult to get the balling rolling. I'm attributing this to the fact they are growing in the online space, and perhaps need a few more front line folks

Fonality is fantastic!

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

We have had the Fonality system for over a year now and have enjoyed the ease of use. Our previous phone system was unable to handle our company needs. My company has 20 offices in the state of Texas with 70 employees so we looked around at several to see who would fit us. We found Fonality fit all of our requirements. My company handles over 6000 calls a month and we record all incoming calls for quality assurance. We also use their system to keep track of all calls coming to our marketing numbers. Makes it easy for us to see what marketing is working or not working. I have used their technical support and customer service several times in the past year without any issues. I find their people know their jobs and know the system very well. There is even a website that you can go to for help instead of calling in for technical support. I highly recommend Fonality for anyone needing a reliable, very affordable phone system

Fonality: Excellent

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

I run a local IT service company. I recommended Fonality to my largest client, who was not only faced with a huge monthly phone bill from CenturyLink, but was faced with having to replace their 15-year-old phone system. They were looking at having to shell out $50k+ for the new system. I introduced them to Fonality, and they not only saved $50k, but dropped their monthly phone bill from ~$2,000 to $600. The employees are not geeks, but they took to the new phone system like fish to water. They have been using the system for over a month and we are getting ready to port the phone numbers over from the old system to the new Fonality system. Fonality's customer service and support has been very good, from day one. I highly recommend Fonality to any business looking for a quick, easy, and affordable phone system

Saved my business from losing money

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

I went from 3 analog lines with Hawaiian Telecom that couldn't even handle call-waiting without extra fees to a flat-rate service with Fonality that has features which costs hundreds if not thousands per month from Hawaiian Telecom, AND included phones, AND "anywhere access" to my cloud interface... I can't even begin to explain how huge this was for my business. It has saved us money because we can juggle calls that we couldn't before - and I can receive calls forwarded to my cell phone automatically with FindMe so I don't miss business. The system has been running smoothly for over a year, and we have not had one single problem with service or support

Set it up then leave it

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

Our service has been reliable, I don't think it has ever gone out. There is a lot of call routing control, and many la carte options which helps us keep costs down. We offer receptionist services to our customers with relatively high call volumes. Fonality's system has been perfect for us. We did have some EXTREMELY frustrating difficulties when getting setup with Fonality, however it was very nice that I could call support at any time. I made my frustrations known to customer support and they got my issues resolved. We've recommend Fonality to others who seemed to have a better time setting up. I've experienced a fair amount of "misunderstandings" both with sales and support. When it comes to support I've taken a "if it's not broken, don't fix it" approach. For sales, I found a reliable sales rep (Justin, extension 6436) who understands what we need and delivers it to us. We've worked with RingCentral, Grasshopper, Phone.com, Google voice, Skype, and others. Overall, I recommend Fonality

Good Customer Service and Overall Satisfaction

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

We were able to negotiate a great deal with Fonality on the solution we needed. It was crucial to integrate with SugarCRM, which is possible through Fonality; one of the reasons we went with a more expensive alternative to our previous provider. The phones were delivered quickly and we have distributed them between our domestic and international offices with full functionality. As a business phone solution, Fonality has not let us down and has provided the service we require for the best price we could have hoped for

New Fonality Customer - so far, so good

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

We are a rapidly growing startup with offices in multiple cities. After much research on various phone systems, I decided on Fonality for our business, primarily due to the recommendation we got from another of their customers. We are still a new customer, but have been pleased so far. Our salesperson was very helpful and knowledgeable, and the training session provided to our end users was a nice addition. We are a mixed Mac / PC environment, and the ability to use the HUD client on both types of computers has been very important. I would still consider us to be in the early stages of use, and we haven't gotten as deep into the Fonality system as we eventually will, but our early results have been very positive, and this is a service I would recommend to any company interested in a VOIP solution

Great Service!

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

Fonality has been great for my office needs. It is reliable and the sound quality is amazing. The few incidents where I have needed assistance, the customer service has been helpful and quick. I would recommend Fonality to anyone looking for affordable and reliable phone servic

Stable and trustworthy Telephony system for Call Centers

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

We have over 100 Fonality trixbox pro customers in Japan and they are all satisfied with the stability and good features of trixbox Pro system. They also choose Fonality trixbox Pro system because of the reasonable pricing. Fonality support is quick and very kind. We always appreciate their good support

Fonality user for over six years. Recently went real bad

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

Fonality user for over 6 years, initially on their hybrid system where we hosted a server, made changes to their server which in turn pushed those changes back to our server in house. Never had any issues. Customer service was great and was all here in the US. About eight months ago switched to their hosted service. From day one it has been a complete nightmare. Nothing but constant dropped calls, users showing on the phone in the queue when they weren't, complete system shutdowns and customers stuck in the queue with no phones ringing. You call their customer service (now in the Philippines) and get no where. They constantly go back to the router and try to blame your router or your connection. Guess what? I had TWO Fonality server accounts in THREE different locations and tried THREE different routers. ALL experienced the same crappy, second rate service. We are so discouraged, so disappointed that I can't even explain how bad this is. I run my company and I have spent hours upon hours dealing with this. I threatened to cancel and they can care less. If you run a business I would advise you stay far clear of this system, it's a mess. We are in the process of trying a new hosted PBX system. Hopefully this one will work out

Fonality are the Worst

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

Fonality are basically a marketing business that sell you on a dream of hassle free service and great features, they then take your money, ship you a box of stuff and its good luck from there. We are an IT company so were happy that we had the resources on staff to self manage the server and configuration going forward, the challenge we have is that the server (they sold us) crashes, software hangs and when you call support, all they say is "try a reboot" Now that might work if we did not pride ourselves on our customer support times, but taking the server down every few hours for 5 minutes at a time is clearly impossible to do. One amusing anecdote is that while I am holding right now and have been for the last 27 minutes I finally got through to their office to be told that they can't transfer me to support as they are having trouble with their phone system...unbelieveable. Last week, we ordered additional phones, they charged my company credit card and never delivered them because "we can't configure them as your server is down" Please save yourself from misery and do what I will now do and go for a real company as Fonality are a disgrace

Fonality: Very happy with it so far

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

We purchased the hosted Fonality system for a client about 6 months ago and have been very happy with it so far. The HUD software is essential for their day to day operations as a sales organization. The server is hosted in Fonality's data centers, and we have yet to have anything close to a real outage. We have offices in five different states and the ability to simply plug your phone into a wall jack and you're completely connected in to the corporate phone system and simply install one program without the need for any specific onsite configuration makes this a no brainer. Call quality has been so good we havent had a second thought about it. The few weird quirks we have had are quickly addresses by support, the average wait time we have had is generally less than 30 seconds. The system also has more features than any other phone system that we looked at. If you need features and have to support a large amount of geographically separate users, Fonality is my recommendation

Fonality: Good price/features

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

I bought my first Fonality system in late 2006 and it was up and running in early 2007. We picked it because we just didnt see anything else out there that had the features. We knew we were taking a chance on a fairly young company, but they did not disappoint. There were some minor installation issues, but their support was some of the best I have every experienced - a team of experienced guys that really seemed to like helping and fixing problems. Over the past 5 years I have installed two more at other offices, and linked them to the HQ server. And I also provide support for another Fonality server at a very large church nearby. I am very aware of the growing pains that Fonality has had over the past couple of years. They have built a support office in the Philippines and also moved some of their offices from Los Angeles to somewhere in Texas. Some of these changes were supposed to improve support and service, but they were late in coming and had a rough start. I have made my dissatisfaction known over this period and Fonality has been very receptive and have done a good job in communicating to me what they are doing to fix these issues. I do see some significant improvements. They know they have a lot of work to do to restore the trust from their customer base. Regarding the system itself, I have had only one significant outage of the years on all the systems I manage. And Fonality support was able to restore service within the hour for that event. The system has been quite reliable, and the biggest issues we have faced have been regarding better network management. We have a call center in the Philippines with 30 people and have had to make some changes in our bandwidth management and internet provider to achieve reliable results. Users love the features, and how accessible these features are, mostly using the HUD interface. I train new users on the phone system and they usually are stunned at how intuitive and easy it is to understand and learn. The control panel is sometimes slow to respond, but it has never kept me from getting things done. All in all, I think Fonality is a good company, and they make a good product. I would (and have on several occasions) recommend Fonality to friends

Fonality: Absolutely Awful Customer Service

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

I orignially purchase the premise based system in 2007. I am a bit of a techy so for me it was easy to get the system up and running in a relative short period of time. I absouletly loved the system. However, in 2012 I noticed that I could no longer update the firmware of my system. I talked to tech support and they recommened that I switch to a hosted system. That was my entry into hell.andnbsp

Fonality: Daily Outages and Issues

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

In the beginning we really liked Fonality, but same as with the reviews below, we are experiencing daily issues with service now. It is completely unrelaiable. The last few tickets we opened they requested that we restart our network...that is just not asuitable answer. We are dumping them for ring centra as soon as I can get the budget approved. Stay away from these guys. The second they get your money, they don't care about you

Fonality: Do Not Recommend

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

DO NOT RECOMMEND! We signed up with Fonality about 4-5 months ago. I have had issues to deal with everyday! We were promised by Ricoh (the company that installed everything for us and were supposedly "experts") that the remote phones would work. We were told that we would be able to unplug a phone and take it whereever we wanted and it would work as if they were "right here in our main office". Having remote phone capability is the main reason we decided to go with VOIP and Fonality. The remote phones never worked. Then, Ricoh told us that we need to purchase a SonicWall to fix the remote phone issue. We spent $1600 on this SonicWall, and our remote phones are still not working. We recently had people move from one office into another (all within the same building) - now, their phones and HUD are not working. There is a new issue everyday. Literally. Another extension was working, now isn't for no reason. I'm actually on the hold with Fonality right now (for 41 minutes so far), while they attempt to correct the issue. I will say that most...well...some of the reps are helpful. It typically takes at least 1-5 hours out of my day to get all of these issues corrected, but I don't alwayshang up angry. Sometimes they actually help. Bottom line: I would stay away from Ricoh (the supposed experts) and Fonality. Both are way too pricey for the less than mediocre service and product that you receive!andnbsp

Fonality: We had to fix the problem ourselves

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

I signed my business up for Fonality about six months ago, and the problems are still ongoing. First it was the softphones. We set up our system with the router and dedicated VOIP bandwidth that Fonality recommended, got blazing fast internet, used their phones and had their techs walk us through installing the HUD. Still, for the first couple months we had problems with the phones taking 2-10min to dial out and the HUD consistently crashing, which was painful since we're trying to launch a call center. When we contacted their tech support it took us at least a dozen phone calls to get absolutely nowhere, but we kept pressing until we got someone on the line who claimed to be the head of the tech dept. After explaining our issues and going over the details of our system, he told us he'd get back to us, "...after I google it." So here we are, three months into starting our business and unable to hire anybody b/c our phones don't work. Tech support never got back to us, we fixed the problem ourselves (turns out we're better at Googling things than an IT professional). To compensate for the problems, Fonality agreed to let us slide on the monthly payments for the months that the service didn't work. Sounds good, right? Sure did. Then, several months later, without making prior contact aside from a "miscommunication" that told us our balance was covered, we get an email informing us that our latest charge didn't go through. We called in to fix the problem and were informed that we were being retro-actively charged for past months - months that we were told we were getting comped. Unfortunately we never received a written detail of what we were getting (or any other helpful correspondence), so they took us for all they could get. The only thing they did right was offer to cancel our contract, which does me no good b/c my business relies 100% on our phones. Needless to say I'm looking for another provider. Cliff notes: Poor tech support, ripped us off hundreds of dollars without notice and chalked it up to a "miscommunication", were unwilling to bite the bullet on their numerous mistakes, even though they acknowledged them

Fonality: Awful Support

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

Awful support. Does not have a approved firewall list . My company is going through HIPAA compliance and these clowns keep telling me which routers are approved. Amazing in this day and age you basically tell a client just keep buying firewalls, install them, when it messes up the phones, send it back and try again. REALLY?!?!andnbsp

Fonality: $3000 Annual Support Fee

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

I have been in the communications / technology industry for 15 years and have an extensive background in telecommunications. I had a customer (school district) whos 3Com NBX had been hit by lightning and had to be replaced. This was in the fall of 2010. At that time, I was an Avaya dealer, but was looking for a different solution for my customers. I first heard of Fonality thru my Dell rep (I am also a Dell reseller/partner). I needed a solution quick since this customer was without a phone system. I called up Fonality and spoke with a sales rep who quoted me a system. The customer had their own analog trunks so we only needed the system and not any voice services. The total system cost plus 58 Polycom IP phones was around $30,000.00. I was NOT told up front that in order to configure your system, you must connect to Fonalitys Cloud and cannot connect directly to the local PBX server to config, nor was I told up front about the extremely expensive annual support. And if you do not pay for the annual support, youre screwed if you have a problem. I was under the impression we could pay per hour if we ever needed support after the 1st year of included support, but I was wrong. After the initial install, which was super slow due to the extremely slow response of Fonalitys Control Panel, we had several instances of not being able to make or receive calls. Again, this system was connected to the customers own local analog trunks and not hosted SIP trunks. So the problem each time was with the servers corrupted config files. And, each time, calling Fonalitys Tech Support was a joke. It would take a 30-45 minute hold each time or I would have to leave my name and number and wait for a call back. Finally, after about 3-4 months from the date of the install, the system seemed to stabilize. Then, when it came time for the annual support to renew, they automatically charged $ 3,100.00 to the same credit card that was used to purchase the system without any warning or email notification. Once that was reversed, they contacted me and basically told me that if I didnt pay for the annual support, I would be sorry. Well, finally today (1/20/2012), I was sorry. The system would not make or receive calls and when I logged into the control panel, I got an error that said your system cannot start due to an error in the Zapata.config or zaptel.config. And even though we bought and paid for the system, Fonality does NOT give you access to correct these kinds of issues yourself. These can only be corrected thru their tech support which we could not talk to unless we paid the $ 3,800.00 annual support (an additional $750 for a 1 time activation fee since we let the support lapse). To make an even longer story short, we paid them the $ 3,800.00, and then called their tech support which had it fixed in 2 minutes. I dont like the fact that Fonality forces you to pay for annual support even though we paid $ 30,000.00 for a phone system. I dont like their slow web control panel and I dont like their tech support. The customer (school district) is having me yank out the system this summer and replace it with an NEC

Fonality: Won't Respond

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

When I signed up with the agent, the program sounded great. Once she had the contract she would not longer respond to any of my emails when I had installation problems which were many. On top of that she gave me a monthly quote figure of $125.00 per month and I just got my first bill and they had $50 per month worth of taxes and fees which she conveniently forgot to mention. Dont trust what they tell you. The service also continually drops calls. Boom Dead. I am going back to the phone company. Its actually cheaper

Fonality: I got great service

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

I Got great service from all Reps and tech support I have dealt with. Our sale person Mike went above and beyond in customer service

Review of Fonality: sound quality and price are decent, but...

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

I have had several incidences where the support personal is unworkable. Currently they have come to the solution that the version of there software we have is not compatible with the stuff we are doing, such as the call routing. So it causes "wierd" problems, this means that the pbx has to go on a regular restart cycle every 15 days or so. This is stupid in my eyes, if we have a maintenance contract and your software is clearly broken fix it, if that means updating it well then that is what it means. Sorry you did not write good software to begin with. No official support for paging also means that if you have a problem good luck. There is serveral sip based providers out there right now that are doing sip based phone systems that are much better. Personally we are going the cudatell route. The other big problem that I am haveing is new phones, we are in the process of expanding and when paying $250 per phone for one of the "base" model phones that is a little hard to sawollow already, that is ok, but the problem continues, we have gotten the last 2 orders of phones and they were not provisioned correctly, this means we have to go through this provisioning process ourselfs. We paid on top of the $250 a $45 per phone configuration fee, what was that for if you do not do anything? Stick with a product that that manufacture actually will update as well as support, and a product that you can do auto phone provisioning and not have to order the phone from one manufacturer. The only other concderation is that the controll panel that is used is hosted by fonality it self. This is not a problem right now, but could be. What would happen if they went out of business or something, you have no way to manager your phone system. I do not know if with all the problems this company has I would trust them that much. I have already witnessed a few incedences where the controll panel is unaviable because some servers are down. Well I need to change things on my pbx, I guess it does not matter though cause I do not get to make the changes without the control panel which I can't get to because the servers are down. It seams like a bad idea to me for any company to rely on a different company this much. Other providers do not require this. Just make sure you do your homework and you are really ok with the problems before going this route

Fonality: sound quality is a huge step up for us

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

We are a company of about 20 people based all across North America and have been fed up with our current VOiP provider so we made a change. I made sure to ask our sales rep explicitly if I could use their phone by plugging into an AirPort Express as I don't have a hardline where my desk is in my house. He told me I could. Upon installation not only could I not use my AirPort Express but their phones won't work with any Apple product (including the Time Capsul router). This would have been helpful to know up front. After running out and buying a new router with QoS I still drop calls, we have other phones that are plugged into the router they sold us that don't work, the phones we were led to purchase are a pain to setup and our sales rep now doesn't seem to be able to return calls within 24 hrs. The sound quality is a huge step up for us from our previous provider, that was a big plus. But not being able to really use the phones all the time is a huge downfall as it's kind of important

Fonality: Reliable and Recommended

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

From our experience, Fonality works quite well with standard T1. Call bursting and accounting is nice as well as being able to write custom reports which is huge for us. It's so nice being with a company and not having the headaches that we had with the previous one. We have recommended Fonality to several other companies in our building. Haven't heard any complaints what-so-ever.andnbsp

Fonality Voip Provider Review

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

Our company is based in Michigan and provides call center ops with the Fonality Call Center PBXtra. We roughly average 2500 calls per day that are less than 2 minutes in duration and are processed with an average of 25 CSR on staff. We selected Fonality based on the small biz model and cost. We have recently expanded to the Fonality HP Server and only integrated the required T1 lines to the system. We doubled the CPU/RAM and increased our T1 cunt and added roll over capabilities. The Fonality Support Team and Management have been available at all times. We would recommend Fonality to any business that is moving forward with expanding their operations and moving toward a fully supported VOIP solution

Fonality: Excellent Quality, Incredible Savings

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

My husband and I were a bit nervous before we decided to make the switch from our local telephone company to Voip. After doing so and seeing the savings that Fonality has brought to our small business, we kick ourselves for not doing this long ago! Since we switched, we have been extremely pleased with our service and the support that Fonality has given to us. We have not experienced any problems what-so-ever with sound quality and highly recommend Fonality to anyone who is considering making the switch to Voip

Fonality: piece of cake

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

I own a Fonality PBX and have approximately 110 phones. I have several Call Centers and many professional users in an office environment. Initial setup for the system was a piece of cake. The HUD Software works fantastic and is also customizable. My Fonality system was 50K less than one of the other companies that I was considering. If I had to do it all over again, I would choose Fonality, hands down! Any time that I have called their support line, they were knowledgeable and extremely helpful. andnbsp

Fonality is the Solution for Us

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

We were reluctant to move our sales office to voip, but we felt we had to cut costs in this economy. We signed up completed our installation questionnaire for our phone set up and got our phones a couple days later. We plugged them in and they worked. It took about two weeks to get our main phone number ported to our new phones, but the calls continued to ring into our old phones until the moment that it got switched to our new phones. It was smooth and seamless

Re: Fonality

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

Fonality Fa

Re: Fonality

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

Fonality VoI

Fonality: Mixed Bag

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

The Bad:

Mixed bag! You get what you pay for. We've had fonality for 4 years now. Have a bonded T1 connected to it along with land lines. Before I get into details, my single comment about fonallity is you get what you pay for! Cheap is never "cheap". I know this post is old, but surprised to see how many recent comments there have been. I'm also surprised to see the webiste fonalitsucks.com taken back by fonality. :-) That's unfortunate. there's nothing wrong with free speech. The only reason I came across this post was because, after having used a fonality PBX for 4 years, we came across another frustrating situation with them. And the most amazing thing is when we escalted it to the manager (Mike C - I only mention his last initial becuase there are many Mike's there) he felt that there was nothing wrong, when in actuality there obviously was! Keep in mind when we did purchased and installed our system, the now board members were the ones answering our phone calls and resolivng our issues. In any case, I have to say I'm EXREMELY surprised and dissapointed to still see some of these internal issues there. Mike seemed more interestd in covering his own but with someone in his dept, than acknoledging there was a problem. Low and behold when he found out it was also related to the sale dept, he said he would jump on it right away and make sure to push it up the chain of command to have that corrected. In the 4 years we've used their system, it's been truly some very frustating moments and some great moments of amazement that was built into this system. We've gone through 2 servers already that crashed and in situation like that, it's obvious they're still going through growing pains. I think we had the first server that crashed due to a HD and they didn't know what to do. And of course along with their growing pains, we feel it directly. And it can be VERY frustrating working these issues out with them, while their lower level techs are running around with their heads chopped off. Of course it takes a few hours of very frustrating, yelling and hair pulling, before it gets escalted to a level of compentency that can do anything. But it is more afforadable than antyhing on the market. Again, you get what you pay for

Look Elsewhere

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating

On paper this system sounded like a great idea. We vetted several different systems and eventually settled on this system for our business phone system. We purchased hardware from Fonality several years ago and immediately began complaining of a delay and echo on the system, customer service immediately insisted the latency we were experiencing was on our network, we replaced our network hardware to their spec's and still had problems. Over course of running a small business (we thought we were obtaining a solution to our phone system needs, not something that we needed to tech out regularly for hours a day) we let these problems just ride. Fast forward to the end of our contract, we Received a renewal notice from Fonality and reached out indicating that we would love to continue service with them if they could fix our system to be usable as originally advertised and was told, quite argumentatively, that because even though we had an unresolved issue with support that they would not even look at our system until we renewed. All I ask is that they look at it and say that it can be fixed, but Fonality is more worried about getting another service contract rather than meeting the obligations of their existing contracts and customers. At this point we are several thousands of dollars in to Fonality for a system and support contract that is largely unusable and unhelpful. The salesperson assigned to our account is rude, unhelpful and unreasonable. We were looking for a turnkey business telephone solution, this isn't it. We are tech savvy, but we are small business without an IT dept to spend weeks fine tuning this system to work in our environment.

Dreadful company to do business with

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating

The system is very unreliable. We suffered multiple dropped calls and the HUD system didn't work far too often (log in issues). Customer service is terrible - normally on hold for at least 25 minutes and then not able to assist in resolving the problem. I spent over 3 hours with customer service on two occasions just to get a phone working. We finally cancelled the service. However, post cancellation they continued to charge our card despite numerous emails. Dreadful company to deal with.

Impressed, not a pain in the butt

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating

My company has been using Fonality for about a year now, and I'm the IT guy that selected them. So far so good. Business phone systems are one of those "could get you fired" purchases if you make the wrong decision, so I pulled in a bunch of business users (head of sales, head of support, our CFO) to help the evaluation. We selected Fonality and I'm glad we did. I used RingCentral at my last company, and had used ShoreTel before then, and both are good examples of a good idea gone bad. Impersonal service, lack of importance of my company to the provider, inexperienced support people, etc. With Fonality, it's so much easier. First, install went well. They have it down to a science. Second, they have "real" unified communications - one app (HUD) that does it all. Third, when I had a problem with voice quality, their support folks actually knew how to help. Turns out someone in my office plugged in a switch and looped it back onto itself, so it was our fault, but the Fonality techs still helped. Everyone here loves HUD, uses it more than the phones, and I didn't get fired. Life is good.



Fonality - An Exceptional Provider


More than 30,000 business owners and IT pros already know about Fonality's flexible and reliable business VoIP service and phone systems. According to experts, Fonality is an exceptional VoIP and IP Communications product and service that helps more than 10,000 users place over more than 20 million calls.

Fonality’s business VoIP service and phone systems come bundled with their powerful combination of unified communications software, that’ll help you sell, service, and collaborate with ease. Only Fonality can give you and your team the same exceptional experience whether you decide to choose pure cloud or the hybrid hosted on-premises phone systems.

Plans and Pricing

With an array of deployment options, cheap features, and easy set-up, Fonality offers customers three basic business phone plans and business VoIP equipment. All of the business phone services include unlimited VoIP and desktop phone options.

Essentials
Essentials is the cheapest plan offered at $19.99 per user per month.
Some of these features include:
-Unlimited calling to anywhere in the USA, Canada, France, Ireland, Italy, Spain, Puerto Rico, Guam, US Virgin Islands and the UK.
- 24/7 Gold support
-Unlimited Basic Queues
- Auto attendant
- Fonality Academy Training

Professional
Take it to the next level with the professional plan available at $24.99 per user per month. This plan includes everything in the Essentials plan and also includes:
-Softphone
-Heads Up Display (HUD Wed)
- HUD Mobile App
- Click to Dial Browser Extension
-Helpful Integrations (connect tools you use)
-Audio conferencing
-On-Demand Recording
-Daily Email Reports

Ultimate
The Ultimate plan is a very all inclusive plan that includes all the features of Professional, and also includes:
-Voicemail Transcription
-HD Video Collaboration
-Advanced Call Center Agent License

Awards and Recognition

Everyone is raving about Fonality and its outstanding product and service. Fonality has earned TMC's Annual Internet Telephony Product of the year award for their exceptional VoIP and IP Communications products and services during the years of 2011, 2012, 2014, 2015 and 2016. In addition, Fonality also won the TMC's annual Contact Center Technology Award for 2015 and 2016. This award is given to companies that have demonstrated exceptional customer service through technology.

From small businesses to enterprises, Fonality is a trusted and reliable name that will ensure top quality performance for your company

Fonality - An Exceptional Provider


More than 30,000 business owners and IT pros already know about Fonality's flexible and reliable business VoIP service and phone systems. According to experts, Fonality is an exceptional VoIP and IP Communications product and service that helps more than 10,000 users place over more than 20 million calls.

Fonality’s business VoIP service and phone systems come bundled with their powerful combination of unified communications software, that’ll help you sell, service, and collaborate with ease. Only Fonality can give you and your team the same exceptional experience whether you decide to choose pure cloud or the hybrid hosted on-premises phone systems.

Plans and Pricing

With an array of deployment options, cheap features, and easy set-up, Fonality offers customers three basic business phone plans and business VoIP equipment. All of the business phone services include unlimited VoIP and desktop phone options.

Essentials
Essentials is the cheapest plan offered at $19.99 per user per month.
Some of these features include:
-Unlimited calling to anywhere in the USA, Canada, France, Ireland, Italy, Spain, Puerto Rico, Guam, US Virgin Islands and the UK.
- 24/7 Gold support
-Unlimited Basic Queues
- Auto attendant
- Fonality Academy Training

Professional
Take it to the next level with the professional plan available at $24.99 per user per month. This plan includes everything in the Essentials plan and also includes:
-Softphone
-Heads Up Display (HUD Wed)
- HUD Mobile App
- Click to Dial Browser Extension
-Helpful Integrations (connect tools you use)
-Audio conferencing
-On-Demand Recording
-Daily Email Reports

Ultimate
The Ultimate plan is a very all inclusive plan that includes all the features of Professional, and also includes:
-Voicemail Transcription
-HD Video Collaboration
-Advanced Call Center Agent License

Awards and Recognition

Everyone is raving about Fonality and its outstanding product and service. Fonality has earned TMC's Annual Internet Telephony Product of the year award for their exceptional VoIP and IP Communications products and services during the years of 2011, 2012, 2014, 2015 and 2016. In addition, Fonality also won the TMC's annual Contact Center Technology Award for 2015 and 2016. This award is given to companies that have demonstrated exceptional customer service through technology.

From small businesses to enterprises, Fonality is a trusted and reliable name that will ensure top quality performance for your company
Created by: shaneyoung, Last modification: Mon 26 of Sep, 2016 (21:29 UTC) by rebecca.mercado
Please update this page with new information, just login and click on the "Edit" or "Discussion" tab. Get a free login here: Register Thanks! - Find us on Google+