VOIPo Reviews

Voipo
Voipo Average User Rating

Based on 33 Reviews

VOIPo provides residential VoIP phone service. Read VOIPo reviews below or write your own.


Write a Review

Voipo User Reviews

Very happy.

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating

It took a bit of work with support to find that my Edgemark 200 router wouldn't pass SIP (because it had it built in and couldn't be disabled) but now up and running and very happy. The support is quick and very good. They supply a Grandstream ATA.



32 Users Reviewed VoIPo on www.voipreview.org

VOIPo - Fast Service - Review

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

fast service, easy set up, great features, perfect sound, dial tone comes on immediately, calls go through no problem.

The Bad:

Have found none in 5 weeks.

Box came fast. Plug in, wait, worked perfect. Love all the features. got 2 months free so less than $7.00 per month. Service for ? very fast and just what I needed. Called New Zealand and daughter was on cell phone outside so really poor on her end. Called her again when she was in the house and no difference from line call. Got everything set up on line really good choices. Would pick it again. Had it 5 weeks so far and not one single problem.

ALMOST (but not quite) there!

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

A wealth of features: - SIP access (Bring your own VoIP phone, generic soft phones, some mobile phones) - Validate your cell phone number, use for outgoing Caller ID - Forwarding/simultaneous ring, with safeguards against VM pickup (e.g. your cell phone)

The Bad:

- International calling tricky over SIP (BYOD, soft phones...) - Slightly tricky behind NAT firewall (short registration intervals required) - Occasional Quality of Service issues

This was the first VoIP provider I tried, and I liked quite a few things about them. I really wanted this to work out, but in the end there was one single showstopper that led me to switch to PhonePower. VOIP's residential service has quite a few bells and whistles that I found useful. One key feature is the way they allow you to forward calls to your cell phone(s) for simultaneous rings. Normally this is an issue because your cell phone's voicemail might pick up the call (right away if you have no coverage), and your home phone will stop ringing. With VOIPo, once you pick up a forwarded call, you need to confirm that you want to receive it... A very simple and practical safeguard that I wish PhonePower had as well. Also, it allows you to pick any of your registered numbers (virtual numbers, your cell phone numbers) as outgoing Caller ID. In my case, I have no cell phone coverage at home, so this allows me to use my cell phone number as my public "main" presence regardless. Combined with forwarding unanswered calls from my cell phone to my VOIPo number, I can then pick up incoming calls whether I'm in coverage (my cell), at home, or via a SIP soft phone from anywhere. (What particularly makes this attractive is that VOIPo's voice mail system is nicer and more practical than that of my cell phone carrier... voice mails can be sent to your email address as attachments, for instance). Now the negatives. First, the VOIPo-supplied phone adapter would lose its registration at regular intervals. My home network is behind a NAT router (basically a Linux box with masquerading firewall, but it's apparently the same issue with a standard NAT/broadband router you'd buy in a store), which means that the adapter does not have a public IP address (presence) on the Internet. So the adapter can initiate contact with the VOIP registration server, but not the other way around. To keep the channel open, the device would normally send "keep-alive" packets to the server at regular intervals.. say every 30 seconds or so. Also, the device needs to re-register with the service every so often - perhaps every 1 - 3 hours. For whatever reason, the VOIPo Registration server keeps losing the VOIPo adapter's registration after a few (10-15) minutes, and the device would not be able to receive incoming call until its next registration, some 45 minutes later. In other words, it would have an active "duty cycle", as it were, of some 1/4 of the time. I did some testing, using my own VoIP soft phone (a Yealink SIP-22P from Amazon), and found a similar issue - at the default 3600 second/1 hour registration interval (even with keep-alive packets every 30 seconds in the interim), the VOIPo registration would lapse after 10-15 minutes. To work around this, I had to set the registration interval very short - 300 seconds/5 minutes. After this, I did not have any more registration issues with my SIP phone (or my soft phones) - but since I was not able to configure the VOIPo adapter, I was not able to use this. [*][**] [*] VOIPo included a piece of paper with the adapter where they explained that if you are behind a NAT router, you need to forward all incoming traffic on UDP ports 2000-65000 to their adapter. This is a non-starter if you, like me, have other services in use. Also even when testing this, it did not seem to address the problem. [**] In contrast, I now use a 7200 second (2 hour) registration interval with PhonePower, without any issues whatsoever. It's simply rock solid. This led me straight to the 2nd and more important showstopper. International calls are restricted when using your own device (like my SIP phone). You can whitelist specific countries, but this does not always work. I had to contact their tech support line for them to fix something in order to be able to call to Norway, and even after multiple attempts, they were unable to fix whitelisting of calls to Taiwan. In other words: - Calling certain destinations is only possible when using the VOIPo supplied adapter - The VOIPo supplied adapter does not work well behind NAT firewalls. Lastly, although voice quality was overall pretty good - VERY good at times - there were other times when the voice was terribly garbled both ways. I've not experienced this once I switched to PhonePower.

I can recommend VOIPo

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

An inexpensive phone that has worked for me wherever I had good broadband internet service. Great special features that I can turn on and off easily, as needed, via my online account panel. Responsive customer service and tech help. Very reasonable pricing.

The Bad:

Internet service itself is sometimes unreliable and that effects the sound quality of the phone.

VOIPO - few redeeming qualities

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

Customer service folks are pleasant when you can reach them. Since if you choose this service you will be in constant contact with them, that is a good thing. Great system if you are within shouting distance of the person you are trying to reach.

The Bad:

Poor reliability. Erratic service. Customer service is limited. Takes a long time to get through. The service sometimes just quits requiring an involved visit with customer service who are only available on West Coast business times.

This is a pretty bad phone service. I wish I had tried it for a few months before paying up front for such a long term commitment. The service is erratic. For domestic calls or international. I signed up for a long term believing that it would be similar to my prior VOIP provider but a bit less expensive. Turns out I was wrong. These guys try hard but are simply working with a system that is deficient in so many ways that it must be impossible to keep on line. My guess is that most customers who use this as an office or home phone will leave the service as soon as their initial period is up. I hope that my next VOIP service is better! Otherwise Verizon here I come....

horrible VOIPO-faxes

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

the price is very cheap

The Bad:

but you get what you pay for.

we were not getting faxes for over a week. they could not fix the problem and didn't know what the problem was. eventually faxes started coming in again but a week later this problem happened again.

Would be great if it were reliable

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

Cost

The Bad:

Prepayment Reliability Lack of "Customer Service"

Ordered May 2012 24 month prepayment. Sounded like a good deal. Billing starts when ordered, not when shipped, received, or activated. Kind petty, but whatever. Stopped working about 8 months into it. Left it unplugged as we really don't need it and didn't have time to deal with "customer service". Company emailed wanting me to update credit card information in July 2013. I mentioned I would not update the information as I would not renew it because it did not work. They kindly sent me to a URL to cancel. Talk about a company not caring if their product works. I finally got them to look into the issue and they now blame the issue on my ISP. Since I am not a computer geek I do not know how to port forward or any of that nerdy stuff. And it ain't worth paying a tech to figure it out. I asked company to refund remaing months (11 of them) and they will not. They want their device back, so they can give it to someone else, but want to keep my money. Shady. Not recommended in the strongest terms. Magic Jack, Ooma, Google Voice via Obitalk device are ALL an improvement and are ALL cheaper than this crappy "service".

VOIPo Simply THE BEST

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

Quality Price Customer Service (usually email but can get them voice)

The Bad:

Vpanel - Could do a little more and be more flexible - but for the price... it is a very small issue.

I had UVerse before switching 2 years ago and I CANNOT tell the difference. What I like: Price - Where are you going to get quality service at this price? Online VPanel - If you have calls from those you wish not to hear from you can make them hear busy signal or phone out of order. You want real privacy this is the key. Customer Service - when I first got the system there were a couple of issue and the tech support was very helpful. They did have to move me to another server and for the last 2 years it has been completely trouble free. Quality - No one can tell this is VoIP. I added a vitual fax (with added number) for $18/yr. I can receive faxes through that number to my email and send them from my computer. Pretty slick.

Taking it with you out of USA

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

Sound service, good for use only in the states if you don't travel.

The Bad:

I was told when I sign up that I could take it with me out of the country. Without warning, they cut off service to anyone who takes it with them out of the country. So now i need to start over with a VOIP service.

Very good tracking on your account via their website. Voice clarity was okay, we just could not use a computer on the same broadband dsl connection the phone was on at the same time of making a call. It would make the phone call choppy.

Worth switching from Vonage

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

Got super low price 2 year $149 package ($6.21 month verses, vonage $30), Feature set has all that I need (simulring my must have works as well as Vonage), voice quality perfect, email support responses fast and even on weekends. Porting over my Vonage# was smooth. I have U-verse 3.0Mb down /1.4Mb up stream and after some settings tweaks QOs sweet.

The Bad:

It is so not important but the only complaint is when listening to VM system menus (NOT THE Voice messages) when accessing it the audio has little pops/clicks or gaps.

I got my box Jan. 19th 2013 so I waited before posting this positive review. I had Vonage for years and seemed to always have to address audio quality issues or reset. I was concerned with the negative Voipo reviews like after using it for a over two months or making so many calls the quality drops off (NOT!). Some were using Uverse and I must say it does help to configure the Uverse ports settings and plug the Voipo RJ45 directly into one of the four uverse router ports. Don't trust my review do what I did try them out but don't get rid of your current service till happy than do the port # over. If Uverse would not increase my 2 yr bundle package price up $35 for dropping the voice line and using Voipo I would do it. JM

Crappy sound quality - Stay Away!

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

cheap price.

The Bad:

Poor sound quality, upfront payment, now I'm stuck

I thought we would be a good solution to be able to have a basic landline for home. Voipo seem to work fine at first. Now, that I am working more and more from home and I am relying on my landline to make and receive business calls, Voipo's called quality has become an issue. For the most part, Voipo works fine for a short phone calls. But, if I use it for calls over five or 10 minutes, quality goes downhill fast. customer service is been courteous but unhelpful. Every time I call them, quality sounds fine, just not what I need to talk to clients. I prepaid for two years, so I am stuck with this crap. I just called ATandT for a wired copper landline. I will keep Voipo as a second line since it's paid for.

Very Good VoIP Service

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

-Very Good to excellent call quality. Fast customer service. Excellent value - very inexpensive.

The Bad:

-Can't really think of anything. You might have to power cycle your adapter once in a blue moon.

I have had Voipo since March 28, 2010, going on three years. Good service. I have been around the block with Voice Over IP phone service. I first started with Sunrocket, a good service, but woke up one morning to read on CNN.com that it had went out of business and all service was suddenly shut down! The word was they didn't pay their taxes. Switched to Voip.com, not to be confused with my current provider - Voipo - with an "o." Voip was garbage. Terrible call quality and not very good customer service. With Voipo, with an "o", my current provider, I rarely have issues. I might have an occasional call not connect; once every couple of months. I email tech support, and they are all over it. Once, Voipo exchanged my adapter, while trying to figure out why the LAN port on the back was not working correctly; which started happening right after Time Warner Cable swapped out my cable modem. As expected, the issue was with TWC's cable modem; once I got rid of it, and got a Motorola Surfboard (good cable modem) the LAN issue went away again. The LAN port just allows you to have greater flexibility in connecting your equipment. I am paid up until March 2014. I thought about getting rid of all home phone service and just using my cell phone, but Voipo is such a good value and the quality and service are good, it is hard to get rid of them. I strongly recommend Voipo.

Worst Service ever

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

price

The Bad:

customer service is lousy the service is spotty and when you do have a problem and is it after 6pm central no one can help you. calls are dropping more than anything. media path that allows us to send and receive your audio data is on some partners end they do not control it

I would tell people to stay away from it the price may be nice but there are countless times where i get e-mails from friends and family to inform me that my phone does not work. contacting support is horrible. they never are there and they do not resolve anything. they tell you to reboot the adapter and it should work that is not techinical support at all

THE - F#$ING - WORST

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

Cheap

The Bad:

Besides being a little cheaper than the others - completely damn useless

I'm too pissed at this company to get into the details. Just stay away from them at all costs. I was initially drawn to sign up with them because of their affiliation with HostGator - Dont be fooled like I was.

VoIPo: Robust Blocking Features

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

Great Customer Service, fast ship of ATA, flawless installation, amazing call blocking features

The Bad:

Port process cumbersome from Google Voice number to Voipo. They required a bill or some other sort of information to complete the port. I had paid the $3.00 port out fee to Google and unlocked my number. Finally they accepted my Google Wallet receipt showing the phone number, my name and address.

Had 3Jam which had many of the same call blocking features, alas, they sold and were not renewing accounts. Tried the Magic Jack Plus which was a childs toy. In addition, Magicjack does not allow anonymous incoming calls and play an ad prior to the call reject message. Sure, I don't normally want anonymous incoming calls either but I would like the choice. Magic Jack also blocks calls to certain areas where they have failed to nogotiate interconnect agreements so you never know if your call will work or not. placed my order for Voipo on January 6th and requested my Google Voice number be ported to that account, finally got the Letter Of Authorization and other documents needed by Voipo to them and was told that my number had been submitted for porting. I did receive a temporary virtual number for incoming calls which I tested forwarding to my cell phone and the Magic Jack line. One surprise was a one minute call I placed to the virtual number from my ATandamp;T number and forwarded to the Magic Jack number where I answered and said testing one, two three and hung up was billed as 361 minutes. I submitted a trouble ticket explaining this was a one minute call and there were several right after that to and from the same numbers and this could not be accurate. The response was that perhaps the equipment did not disconnect correctly and I should always be sure to disconnect??? That was a frustrating response as how could I have made several additional calls within a few minutes without disconnecting. I hope this is only a one time glitch as even though they say the service is unlimited there is an excessive usage cap of 5000 minutes as stated in their terms of service. As mentioned earlier, their call blocking features are robust and work as described. I am deluged by telemarketers spoofing numbers and all of the available blocks provided by Voipo work perfectly.The price is great, custimer service located in the United States.

VoIPo was down more often than up

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

Inexpensive phone service. Friendly customer service.

The Bad:

Horrible phone system. Phones were down more often than they were up. Very frustrating.

The phone service was down more than half the time than it was up. Customer service had no idea how to fix the problem although had me tweak the router multiple times. There was a lot of dead space and busy signals and when people would call the phone would hang up on them. Also, the delay was terrible. I absolutely do not recommend this phone service to anyone.

VoIPo: Great Choice

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

cheap price with all the same features I was getting with ATandT

The Bad:

None that I can think of, could be a little clearer on how rebilling works, is 2 years still $149 upon renewal or is that just the opening rate?

Not much to say. This is by far the cheapest phone service around that still have the features of mainstream service like ATandamp;T. Great choice.

VoIPo: lack of communication

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

many features. Great Price.

The Bad:

limited customer service hours, do not honor promises made to customer.

The first adapter they sent me never worked properly. I spent around 10 hours on the phone with customer service for two days and they never did figure out what was wrong other than the adapter was bad. They said they would replace it and send me a new one but 3 weeks later and multiple phone calls I still did not have the new adapter. At the end of my 30 day trial I finally got the new adapter. I got it all set up and it worked great but the voice quality was horrible. At on point the voice quality was great but incoming calls did not work. They made all kinds of tweaks to my router and to the adapter and tried rerouting and different servers but nothing worked. In the end I had to cancel. After the first 30 days they told me they would grant me an addition 30 days of trial time. I cancelled online but the cancellation did not register. So I called them a couple days later to verify my account was cancelled and I had to redo the cancel. I returned the equiptment via Fed Ex and three weeks later they still did not have it in thier records. I had them track it down while I waited on the phone. Then they told me they would not honor the extra 30 garantee they promised me. The billing department would not honor what the customer service department told me and I even had it in writing. This is not a company that communicates well between department and they do not put the customer first and do not honor thier word. I find them very unethical in this manner. Most of the customer service reps are very nice and seem to know what they are doing but they could not resolve my issues and they are not valued when it comes to honoring what they have told the customer. This is a very poorly managed company and the customer suffers because of it.

VoIPo Is The Best

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

Great Voice Quality, Easy Number Porting, Fair Pricing, USA-Only Based Customer Service (Bye, bye, India!)

The Bad:

Full Upfront Payment For Lowest Price, Limited Hours For Customer Service

I've been live for a week now, everything is smooth sailing. Six days from order to live (including porting my number), the voice quality is great (much better than Vonage), all of the features I could ever want are included, and the price is great. I only wish there were more detailed information on the features in the knowledgebase. Other than that, all is well. I will update review in a few months.

I have had VOIPO for nearly a year

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

Lots of features, great price, easy setup, helpful and responsive staff (when they are available). Web access to features is nice and functional. The SMS ability to change phone forwarding is great. They try hard.

The Bad:

Live Customer support is only 9am-6pm CT Monday-Friday.

I have had VOIPO for nearly a year and have had problems every 6-8 weeks. To their credit they did find that my Internet connection did have some problems last year but I upgraded my bandwidth and that issue went away. My two concerns are reliability of the service (I have had to have tweaks done to the configuration serveral times and they switched servers on my as well), and lack of customer support during evenings and weekends. They will schedule time to work with you after hours, but that doesn't help when you don't know that your phone stops working correctly on the weekend or after 6pm CT.Their forums are good, others apparently do not have the same problems as I have had.

VoIPo review: Excellent and responsive customer service

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

Excellent and responsive customer service, excellent uptime, easy to set up and use

The Bad:

Somewhat limited (M-F business hours) support, but US-based support

A great provider and a terrific value with no upfront cost. The supplied ATA is easy to set up and works reliably. Customer service is responsive and competent, but their support hours are a bit short.

2 years, no problems

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

Inexpensive, reliable, excellent technical support

The Bad:

None, really

I've been a customer for almost 2 years. Voice quality has been good, and I've not experienced any outages. My initial porting took a very long time, but I think that was the outgoing carrier's fault and Voipo provided a temporary number. During the number port I had a couple of chances to deal with their US-based technical support, which was great - the support guys actual treat you like an intelligent human being and solved a couple minor setup issues on the first try. The Voipo control panel software for their many features is functional, but the interface is dated and a little clunky. But being able to "blacklist" annoying telemarketers who ignore the do-not-call list is worth the price all by itself.

With Voipo for about two months now

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

price, features, reliability

The Bad:

none

I have been a customer with Voipo for about two months now. I am impressed by the number of features they provide for such a reasonable price. the call quality is good, maybe 95 % of the time. on longer calls ( 30 min or more), sometimes the quality will decline, however not to an unacceptable level. I have had only one instance of echoing , during a call, in these two months of service . I am using this number both for personal and business reasons, as the back-up phone for business.I also like that I can send faxes for free, only to send , not to receive. very fast customer service , still, only by email , no chat or phone feature ? a live chat will be more personable and probably a needed feature. this is my third attempt to a VOIP service . I have tried Magic jack - horrible quality, never recommend and Comcast digital voice - good quality and features but really expensive ( at promotion, $20/month + the need to rent an outdated modem - they charge $7/month for a 2006 docs 2 modem, really ?)all in all , probably the best value proposition in the VOIP arena , in today's market. seriously consider to keep this as the main land line , for the foreseeable feature .

I have had VOIPo for over a year now and have been very happy with their service.

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

It works - no fuss, no muss. Features galore if you want them. Call blocking / filtering has eliminated virtually all unwanted calls.

The Bad:

None

I have had VOIPo for over a year now and have been very happy with their service. Customer service has been excellent. Have recommended their service to several friends and have renewed my service for 2 more years.

Was with Vonage previously and switched to VOIPo

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

Many service options and atleast one option to meet your need, Great customer service and customer support. Very low cost, no added fees or hidden charges

The Bad:

No major show stoppers that I see as of now...but if I were to list one their online Control Panel has some room for improvements

I was with Vonage previously and switched to VOIPo and siged up a month and half ago. It was very easy to sign-up, ported my number from Vonage to VOIPo and its almost less than half cheaper that what I was paying previously. Their customer service is great and they have live chat which is very accessible and great and have used it. The number port took 3 weeks from day porting request was made to actual port complete and being active and it was smooth. I am using their SIP account(Beta feature) with my own ATA and its working great. I am so glad I switched and very happy with VOIPo! It has been the best experience of all my VoIP choices so far(I have tried Sunrocket, Lingo, and Vonage).

I am glad I have switched to Voipo

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

Best price in the market. 2nd cloned line. Customer service. Online account management features.

The Bad:

Number porting seem to take longer.

My service has been very reliable except once I had problem for couple of days due to corrupt adapter. Voipo replaced it quickly with no charge and my service has been stable since then. The features in their vPanel are awesome. I also have international package and my calls to india seem to work fine. Only reason I took out 1 point from ease of setup is due to the fact that my number porting took more than 2 weeks (not sure whether it was due to Voipo or my previous provider). Overall, I am glad I have switched to Voipo and their rate plans are best in the market. The customer service is very friendly andamp; quick. I already recommended Voipo to few of my friends. Thanks Voipo.

Been with VOIPo for a couple of years

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

Just works all the time!

The Bad:

None

I have been with VOIPo for a couple of years now. I switched after CallVantage went away. I can say that I have few to NO issues with this service. It works flawlessly and doesn't let me down. You just can't beat the feature set and the pricing. You get all that and flawless quality of service as well. It gets my vote! Don't give it a second thought if you are looking for a provider. -WTH

Knowing what I know now, I would make the same decision - leaving Vonage for VOIPo

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

Low cost. Tech support is knowledgeable and speaks USA english. Allows (does not support) softphones.

The Bad:

Tech support has limited hours. Softphones are not officially supported

Overall; VOIPo is MUCH cheaper than Vonage. Essentially; I'm getting three [3]lines for about 1/4th what Vonage *actually* charges. Knowing what I know now; I would make the same decision - leaving Vonagefor VOIPo. -doug

VoIPo review: The order and porting were done very timely and smoothly

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

I only with them for about a month. The order and porting were done very timely and smoothly.

The Bad:

No complaints so far.

The have a lot of features with their services but there is no easy way to figure how each one works. Last thing I want to do is open a tech support ticket for each feature I want to use.z

I've been a VOIPo user since I began beta testing the service in February 2007

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

Robust features, reliable connections, worry-free virtually unlimited service.

The Bad:

No other company will ever measure up once to use VOIPo for a while.

I've been a VOIPo user since I began beta testing the service in February 2007. I eventually ported over my Packet8 line (a number ported from Vonage). I simply have no complaints. The sevice works, and I do not have to really think about it. Its there when I need it. They do have some cool features like call recording, and caller ID filtering. Even for new users, there are good deals for 1 and 2 year sign-ups. If you think monthly is a safer bet, quiting the yearly plan early will simplycost the monthly price after the 30 day money-back period. In other words, there is no real risk in a long-term sign-up other than saving more money if you stick with it.For those that like a BYOD setup, they do offer credentials to setup a different device like a soft phone or a different ATA. As for support, BYOD is only a user supported service. The supplied device is the acid test to prove the service works. Even so, many people use alternet devices, or a soft phone to act as a second line in a different location - or while they travel.VOIPo's biggest weakness is their documentation, and web interface. Nothing is difficult, but it may slow you down discovering all the great things. They are working on both documentation, and an improved web portal, but they both have been a long time coming. VOIPo is great at innovating, but they do take their time trying to ensure new features do not affect the core service. They are not afraid to spend more time and money versus rushing a feature because it would boost sales.I also understand VOIPo is profitable. It took Vonage a magnatude longer to approach break even. VOIPo has an effective set of plans that work for the customer, and in the business sense. VOIPo will be around a long time! They are growing fast, and their technology scales well to demand.Although I've beta tested VOIPo, I am simply a long time user, and make no income from my enthusiam. I happily reccomend VOIPo to all considering a plugandamp;play VoIP service. I began with Vonage in January 2003 (And some experimentation with iConnectHere from Delta3 December 2002.)My home on the Interenet is DSLReports.com in many forums including the VoIP Tech Chat Forum - be sure to check it out! That is where I first heard of Vonage, Packet8 and many other providers. That is where I learned way back that I could beta test VOIPo. I resisted the VOIPo chatter for many months before giving them a better look. I am so glad I did! It has been the best experience of all my VoIP choices (And I beta tested the Vonage V-Phone too!)

I've been with VOIPo since their BETA days (several years), and haven't looked back.

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

- Cheap - Reliable - Good customer support

The Bad:

None.

I've been with VOIPo since their BETA days (several years), and haven't looked back. The call quality has been close to perfect, and reliability has been great. They continue to come out with new features, and I would recommend them to anyone looking for a VOIP provider. I know some people have had call quality issues, but from what I've seen, a call to their support can typically resolve these problems in just a few minutes.

VoIPo has been a great service provider since I have been with them

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

Everything :)

The Bad:

Have had no problems with VoIPo

VoIPo has been a great service provider since I have been with them. I have been a Beta tester since ive started and had a GREAT expierence.

Their prorate charging policy is unfair, service reps will ignore you if you're no longer a customer

Posted:
Sound Quality Reliability Features Customer Service Price Overall User Rating
The Good:

It's cheap...

The Bad:

For half of the time period that I had their service, I couldn't even get a dial tone on my phone. Also, if you don't plan on renewing with them, you'd best send in your adapter back early (and not get the full value out of your service term length).

I had a 15 month contract with them. When the 15 months was up, I formally cancelled my account and sent back their phone adapter in the mail. Yet Voipo charged me (on my credit card, whose number they still have on file) a "prorated" rate of $23 for the few days beyond the termination of my account that I still had their adapter. Two points:1. It's not possible to use a VOIP service - or any service for that matter that involves rented equipment - up until the day the service expires, and return their equipment back to the service provider that very day. There has to be some grace period wherein you're allowed to return equipment without incurring a charge.2. How is $23 a "prorated" charge? First of all, they got their equipment back within 2 weeks of the expiration of my service (I know because I was notified by the postal service). But even if they were charging "prorated" rates by the month, and not parts of a month, they don't even have a residential phone plan that costs $23/month. What kind of made-up amount is that?And what's even worse is that, now that I'm no longer their customer, they're completely ignoring my email inquiries as to the fairness of this charge. There's nothing that's more of a turn-off than bad customer service and being ignored.All I have to say is that they're sneaky, very sneaky. Bottomline, you can't trust them...



VOIPo is a residential VoIP phone service provider.

Created by: admin, Last modification: Tue 15 of Oct, 2013 (01:08 UTC)


Please update this page with new information, just login and click on the "Edit" or "Discussion" tab. Get a free login here: Register Thanks! - Find us on Google+

Page Changes | Comments

 

Featured -

Search: